Career Achievement Award (aka the Heatwole Award)

This Award is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to the College and the specialty of Emergency Medicine. Given at the VACEP Annual Membership Meeting held in conjunction with our Scientific Assembly.

Criteria: The Career Achievement Award is presented to a past or current VACEP member for outstanding contributions to the College. It is named after Stanley E. Heatwole, MD, FACEP who served VACEP as its President and as Director and who worked tirelessly to advance the interests of the College and of fellow Emergency Physicians. The nominee should have made an outstanding contribution to the College and to our specialty over a prolonged duration. The attributes exemplified should include, but not be limited to, inspiration, innovation, dedication, administration and outstanding clinical care.

Entry Procedures: Any member may nominate a member by submitting a nomination letter. The letter should be submitted with supporting materials, including a CV to the College office, attention Bob Ramsey, CAE, Executive Director.

Judging: The Awards Committee will judge entries.  The decision of the Committee is final.

McDade Award

This award is given in recognition of exemplary and outstanding research in the field of Emergency Medical Care.

The John P. McDade, MD Award for Research in Emergency Medical Care (the McDade Award) was established by the Board of Directors of the Virginia College of Emergency Physicians (VACEP) in 1981, to honor Dr. McDade for his many contributions to the independent practice of Emergency Medicine. Dr. McDade was a founding member of the Virginia College and a distinguished leader and Past President of the American College of Emergency Physicians. He believed that advancement of the specialty would depend on appropriate research in the field of emergency medicine.

This award is bestowed for exemplary and outstanding research in the field of Emergency Medical Care. Recipients are honored at the VACEP Membership Annual Meeting.  The Award need not be presented each year in each category. The two categories and eligibility are as follows:

  • Residency — Any resident in an approved Emergency Medicine residency program in the Commonwealth of Virginia, who is a member of VACEP.
  • Post-Graduate — Any licensed physician within the Commonwealth of Virginia who is a member of VACEP.

               Award Criteria     Application